Books@Baccon

A teacher librarian's learning journey

Blog postings… November 26, 2013

Filed under: ETL402 Literature in Education — Jennifer Baccon @ 12:57 am

1a Definition of children’s literature 

Quite liking the definition of “literature of children” in placing children at the forefront, as the holders/owners (Winch, 2006). I like too the multi-participants (author, illustrator, child, parent, critics, teachers…) implied by use of the word “conversation” in the definition again provided by Winch. “Children’s literature is an artistically mediated form of communication – a conversation – that a society has with its young” (p. 398). Societal aspect seems of importance in a definition – a facet of “‘No text is innocent”‘ (Barthe quoted by Winch).

1b Pleasures in reading

I had a beautifully pleasurable experience just this morning, indulgently reading “Layla Queen of Hearts” by Glenda Millard. Found myself weeping for an old lady I never knew – or did I? The story deals with aging, friendship, family, and small miracles. I see (and felt) the connections to my own “story” and understand more fully Winch’s (2006) concept of literature as a map, in considering how I perhaps am traversing this map in my own unique way. Meaning made for me by this story is probably quite different to that of another reader. The pleasure of language was also felt in reading this short novel. The language is gentle and lyrical. “Leafless vines scribbled secret words along the wires” (p. 77)…

1c Response to Zipes

Can I clarify whether the “They” of the quote refers to parents or schools, or critics? I can’t help but interpret “They” as parents or schools. I’ll read it tomorrow and probably see different…

 I think the Lukes and Zipes are a little harsh but agree many educators certainly do struggle to keep up with an evolving notion of “literacy” in the understandings behind and resultant practices of the classroom. In agreement with Wolf (quoted by Zipes, p. 42), I believe we need to broaden our conception of “text” whilst remaining true to our purpose of providing meaning making through literacy. As TLs we need to keep up with what is defining “literacy” for our students and seek both explicit and implicit ways that make the way it is viewed or read a deeper experience as we always have.
 

Leave a Reply

